03.11.2022 – Founding of the Open Direct Current Alliance (ODCA)

Organised by the German Electro and Digital Industry Association (ZVEI), the ODCA was founded with 33 well-known companies and renowned research institutes such as the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg, represented here by the FAPS chair. Its goal is the worldwide development of a direct current ecosystem and the cross-industry and cross-application establishment of direct current technology.

Direct current networks play a key role in CO2-neutral production and lead to a resource-saving use of materials in automation and electrification of factory energy networks. For example, in the first trial plants, up to 10 per cent energy savings and about 50 per cent copper savings could be realised for cables. Another industrial test facility for coupling regenerative energies and storage solutions is currently being built at the FAPS chair.

Uniform standards in planning, product development and the commissioning of automated production plants are essential for a sustainable implementation of direct current technology, which is why the FAPS Chair is particularly involved in the corresponding working groups and coordinates its own activities and planning tools in ongoing research and development projects with the ODCA specifications.

Dr. Hartwig Stammberger (Eaton Industries) was elected chairman of the ODCA and Dr. Jan Stefan Michels (Weidmüller) was elected vice-chairman. The following research institutions are represented within the working group:

  • Fraunhofer IISB
  • Fraunhofer IPA
  • FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • TH Ostwestfalen-Lippe
  • TU Braunschweig
  • TU Ilmenau

In addition, the following companies are among the founding members in alphabetical order:

  • Audi
  • Bender
  • Danfoss
  • Eaton Industries
  • ESR Pollmeier
  • E-T-A
  • ETO Magnetic
  • Harting
  • Innelekt
  • Jean Müller
  • KEB
  • KEBA
  • KUKA
  • Lapp
  • Lenze
  • Maschinenfabrik Reinhausen
  • Murrelektronik
  • Paul Vahle
  • Phoenix Contact
  • Rittal
  • Schaltbau
  • Schneider Electric
  • Siemens
  • Weidmüller
  • Wöhner.


Benjamin Gutwald, M.Sc.

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Institute for Factory Automation and Production Systems (FAPS)